Unit 8 – 2 minute project idea

Rationale

After studying this course at the College of West Anglia, I have made lots of films in documentary format and interviews. Of the formats I have explored, i have realised that I enjoy making interviews. The area of medium I wish to do is interviews. The past projects I have done like the video installation has helped my skills and knowledge of the project. I will be interviewing two people who will tell me their stories about someone breaking promises, but the camera would be slightly hidden so maybe they won’t lie as much as if they were in view of the camera. From being on this course, I have learnt lots about camera angles, lighting, shadows and editing. I really enjoy editing videos on Premiere Pro CC and before I joined this course I didn’t know anything about it. I will look at more theoretical approaches to this piece by focusing on semiotics which I have never studied before. Semiotics are the study of signs.

Project Concept

For my piece for unit 8, my idea will reflect the keyword ‘Broken’ because it will be about broken promises. I feel this topic would be best for my piece for this unit because many people have experienced broken promises including me. They don’t need to be big promises that were broken, they can just be someone telling me they were going to go to somewhere with me and then decide not to.

I anticipate on producing a piece of work which will focus on reflecting broken promises. I would be interviewing two people of similar ages who would then tell me their experiences of when someone broke a promise to them. The camera will be slightly hidden to, hopefully, make the people tell the truth. I have created a mood board for my idea which has pictures of trust, lies, quotes about breaking promises because they are all closely linked to breaking promises.

The piece will be mostly improvised because they will be talking about their personal experiences on the topic, however, some of it will be scripted because I ask them the question ‘Have you ever broken a promise?’ They reply that they haven’t but by the end of the interview, they admit that they have broken promises. The types of resources I will need will be a microphone, camera and editing software.

I will be filming this piece on the camera legs and panning into their faces every now and then. I will be using Premiere Pro to edit the clips which I am used to and feel comfortable using.

Evaluation

My research will be demonstrated by having mood boards and storyboards as well as using links to some websites. I will split my reflections into two categories: one focuses on the more theoretical aspect of this work (Sophia’s help) and the other will focus more on practical aspects (Foxy’s help).

I will blog about each stage of the project, where necessary, and focus on the key stages such as research, development, planning, pre-production, shooting and editing. I will create a mood board and storyboard. I will use screenshots of each stage which will be annotated with my ideas and any problems I may experience.

I anticipate the biggest challenges I will come across will be using the camera to a professional level and getting the lighting to hide any shadows. I will report all of this in my blog as I come across any problems.

Project Action Plan and Timetable

6th – Proposal and research

11th – Write mood board, storyboard, risk assessment and crew list.

13th – Write narrative (if needed)

20th – Practice using the camera and setting up white balance with some help from Foxy.

25th – Find location and cast members.

27th – Begin filming

1st – Edit the video and take screenshots uploading onto blog.

3rd – Import edit if not done already

8th – Evaluate the shoot

I need to create a storyboard and mood board.

Proposed Research Sources

For my studies for my project, I went onto Google books and searched for interviews. I found a good book on it called about how to interview people and the data you can get from people you interview. It was called Doing Interviews by Steinar Kvale. This helped me with ideas for my video. A book on Google Books called Beautiful Broken Promises by Kimberly Lauren was an exciting read about someone’s recent loss and broken promises from being in a relationship. A really interesting read was called Woman with a Movie Camera: My Life as a Russian Filmmaker which was about how to set up the camera as well as being able to use it for interviews during the 1960’s. This book especially focuses on not stereotyping about women working with cameras. In the section of the book about lessons of television,  it tells you all about the camera shot types and how the interview was shot three times; once in wide shot, once in close up shot and once in mid-shot rather than using three cameras and filming it once to smooth the editing. The story also tells you that they used to clap their hands to start a scene before they used clappers.

 

I will be thinking whether calling a small lie a white lie and a big lie a black lie is socially acceptable these days.

Leave a Reply

