STAR Interviews

Star

S – Situations – soft skills e.g. Teamwork, Patient and Negotiation, Communication (Formal, Informal, Talking or Letter) Apprenticeship, University, Telephone, Social Media. Set the scene. Who? When? Where? (Location)

Task – Team – Specific about me (Team and me)

Action – Response – Detail? History? Avoid Acronyms? Dealing with customers – (Me and what I did.)

Result – Qualified (Explain and evidence) and quantified (numbers), saving of time and money, percentage of sales (Outcome)

– Tell me about a time when you did this

Competency – The ability to do something well and successfully. Behaviours that are effective. Attitude, Skills and Knowledge. – Common Sense and thinking for yourself. Real life examples.

I used to work in Monsoon and had to respond quickly to customers which made me efficient and had to make sure I was fast at their service and dealing with their concerns.

Each candidate for the job is asked similar questions. Key competencies?

Tell me about a time when…

Describe an occasion when…

When has it been important to…

Give me an example of…

 

Tell me about a time when you had to work under pressure.

Tell me about a time when you offered to help other people.

Tell me about a time when you have had to hit a deadline.

Describe an occasion when you had to help other people.

(Describe an occasion when you showed a high level of cleanliness.)

When has it been important to ensure proper cleanliness is ensured?

Give me an example of a time when you had to ensure the washing up was done promptly.

Customer Focus 

Difficult Customer

Nice colleague. Calm.

Various Situations

 

Team Management – Inspiring trust. Sensitive situation.

Strategic Thinking – Goals and company goals. In the past year how has the person supported objectives? It could be team, company or personal objectives. When wider impact?

Effective Organisation – Achieve deadline. Time and prioritise. Completed project. Competing project.

Collaborative Working – Successful team. People different views. How agree? Complete task/project with people outside the team.

 

Leader

Instruction

Pattern in Partner

Emotion? It made you feel anxious and awkward

Rhumba

 

Write 5 Interview Questions…

I know you worked in Monsoon before here, what skills and experiences would you say you have that stands out from the rest of the other candidates?

Tell me about a time when you had to work as part of a team?

Give me an example of when you had to cater for someone else’s needs?

Tell me about a time when you faced a problem and how you overcame it.

Tell me about a time when you had to help other people.

 

Difficult Customer

Adapt Communication – Hand gestures

Obstacle overcome

 

Leave a Reply

